A different kind of summer

Yellow rose – pre-pandemic – Palm Springs, CA

I know many of us are wondering where the spring and now summer has gone. On 7/6/2020 I started my “voluntary early retirement”. Honestly I feel very grateful to have had the opportunity. I had planned to retire in the next 5 years so this just sped up the timeline. This blog has been pretty much trying to prepare me for the transition from a 35 year career in the airline/IT industry into something else. I am 56 so I feel I still have an opportunity to contribute to society, somehow. I have had a list of things I couldn’t wait to do:

Improve my photography, take an art class, take golf lessons, take up golf, sit on my back deck and enjoy nature, do more yoga and stretching, walk, read, write, draw, the list seems almost endless.

I have to say that I have hit on quite a few of those already. Who knew we would be somewhat homebound for so long. I am honestly enjoying this opportunity to slowly transition into this change. I feel like a kid on summer vacation at my grandparents house. Warm summer nights, playing outside and eating watermelon.

I am beginning to look forward to fall and getting into some kind of routine. I think that means work in my head but also fall means backyard dinners with family and friends, Thanksgiving and Christmas are just around the corner. I don’t think this year we will be back to the same celebrations we took for granted but I hope a vaccine will bring back hugs and family time.

With all this time on my hands I have been exploring what I can do to give back. I am working on an idea for a new website/blog that will allow me to use my creative side, along with my analytical side to celebrate life, joy and beauty. Stay tuned, I hope to launch it in October or November 2020. Here is a sneak peak of my watercolor postcards I hope to offer on my new website.

Thank you for reading, stay safe and healthy!


Posted

in

, , , , ,

by

Comments

5 responses to “A different kind of summer”

  1. David Avatar

    A very nice rendering of the rose at the top of your post. You’re going to love retirement and sounds like you are already off to a great start. Look forward to the new blog site! Stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheryl Gim Avatar

    Thanks a lot for choosing to follow The Pinay Ajumma! I’m so grateful for your support.
    I look forward to reading more great posts from you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovemypups333 Avatar

      Thank you. I appreciate you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment