Retirement on!

My early retirement was accepted, so now instead of the years I was counting down it is a matter of weeks, 10 weeks to be exact. Honestly it really is a bittersweet moment. I’ve worked at the same company for 35 years, pretty much all of my adult life. I have had the opportunity to go from mainframe computers, dumb terminals, rolling out the first PC’s to travel agencies, seeing the Internet created and now moving everything to cloud technology. It’s actually a pleasure to start looking back on my career to see all the high points. Over this time we have seen so much impact to the travel industry, 9/11, the financial crisis and now Covid-19. I really wish my retirement was at a better time in the world but here it is, an earthquake moment for so many.

I’ve started exploring some of the things I am looking forward to in retirement and it’s made me happen upon two books that I have been “saving” for when I have more time. One is Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott and the other is It’s Never to Late to Begin Again by Julia Cameron.

Bird by Bird is to help with writing. I love her style and directions on how to get started. The first tip is just sit down and write. Julia Cameron’s book also invites writing but she has lots of great ideas on how to get your creative juices flowing.

If you are at all looking for creative outlets during this crazy time, you might take a look at one of these books.

I would just like to leave you with a quote that has been resonating with me lately and I think it is appropriate during this pandemic and really at any point in life.

“Tell me, what it is you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” by Mary Oliver’s poem, The Summer Day.

Stay safe and healthy my friends!


by

Comments

4 responses to “Retirement on!”

  1. David Avatar

    I guess it is a bittersweet Congratulations! I can relate to how you are feeling since my early retirement came with the closing of my work site and the loss of jobs by my friends. But I know you are going to have a great time and I look forward to many more of your posts.

    Like

  2. Lovemypups333 Avatar

    Thank you David. I look forward to more blog posts of yours as well. Stay safe & healthy!
    Terri

    Like

  3. sienablue Avatar

    Adjusting to retirement can be tricky. I spent the first year downshifting by freelance writing at writeraccess.com but after a while I wanted to live without clients and deadlines. I went out more and joined some groups. Now I enjoy being home or close to home and feel no desire to rejoin most groups. I think periodic evaluation and adjustment is helpful. Writing in a journal or blog can be helpful during that process. Retirement is a journey and I know you will enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovemypups333 Avatar

      Thanks for the insight. I am looking forward to some new adventures.

      Like

Leave a comment